Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

asif999
Frequent Visitor

Table.SelectRows Custom Column Looping Variable

I am new to Power Query.

I got this solution from another forum. I want to understand the logic behind this function.

asif999_0-1680181510652.png

Funtion used = Table.AddColumn(Source, "Custom", each Table.SelectRows(Source,(x)=>x[Order ID]=[Order ID])) (highlighted part)

The above functions fell into the error when I tweaked it from this condition (x)=>x[Order ID]=[Order ID] to [Order ID]=[Order ID].

Download File

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
AlienSx
Super User
Super User

Hi, @asif999 it's all about misleading "each" replacing (_) => and omitting _ later. Makes sense to use this in simple expressions but when you are dealing with iterator inside another iterator ... it's easy to get lost. Rewrite your step as below. Table.AddColumn iterates Source and (w) is a current row of that iteration. But w[Order ID] is another table you are iterating. (x) is a current item (row) of that iteration (over w[Order ID] table)  

Table.AddColumn(Source, "Custom", (w) => Table.SelectRows(Source,(x) => x[Order ID]= w[Order ID]))

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
AlienSx
Super User
Super User

Hi, @asif999 it's all about misleading "each" replacing (_) => and omitting _ later. Makes sense to use this in simple expressions but when you are dealing with iterator inside another iterator ... it's easy to get lost. Rewrite your step as below. Table.AddColumn iterates Source and (w) is a current row of that iteration. But w[Order ID] is another table you are iterating. (x) is a current item (row) of that iteration (over w[Order ID] table)  

Table.AddColumn(Source, "Custom", (w) => Table.SelectRows(Source,(x) => x[Order ID]= w[Order ID]))