Forum Discussion
Permissioning in Workspaces
I have a workspace that publishes to an app. I have several people who I'd like to be able to create reports based on the workspace datasets. I do not want them to be able to edit or delete existing reports. I would like them to be able to access the dataset in the service or desktop to create a report and I would like them to be able to share that report with others if they like. As far as I know this isn't possible. Does anyone know how to do this?
I'm afraid this could not be achieved because "create reports" and "not able to edit or delete existing reports" is conflict. Because the new workspaces offer three roles: admins, members, and contributors.
Admins can:
- Update and delete the workspace.
- Add/remove people, including other admins.
- Do everything members can do.
Members can:
- Add members or others with lower permissions.
- Publish and update an app.
- Share an item or share an app.
- Allow others to reshare items.
- Do everything contributors can do.
Contributors can:
- Create, edit, and delete content in the workspace.
- Publish reports to the workspace, delete content.
- Can’t give new people access to content. They can’t share new content, but can share with someone with whom the workspace, item, or app is already shared.
- Can’t modify the members of the group.
Community Support Team _ Jimmy Tao
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
2 Replies
- v-yuta-msftCommunity Support
I'm afraid this could not be achieved because "create reports" and "not able to edit or delete existing reports" is conflict. Because the new workspaces offer three roles: admins, members, and contributors.
Admins can:
- Update and delete the workspace.
- Add/remove people, including other admins.
- Do everything members can do.
Members can:
- Add members or others with lower permissions.
- Publish and update an app.
- Share an item or share an app.
- Allow others to reshare items.
- Do everything contributors can do.
Contributors can:
- Create, edit, and delete content in the workspace.
- Publish reports to the workspace, delete content.
- Can’t give new people access to content. They can’t share new content, but can share with someone with whom the workspace, item, or app is already shared.
- Can’t modify the members of the group.
Community Support Team _ Jimmy Tao
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
- leahschneiderHelper III
Thank you. This seems like a very weird concept. I've never heard of anything that doesn't let you prevent people from deleting. Will this feature ever become available?