Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

FabryZ
Frequent Visitor

How to relate two tables without a common key (easy in SQL, but in Power Query?)

Hi all,

I'm new to Power query (so, I apologize for stupid questions...), but I'm trying to compare sql query and power query, and I'm not able to merge these two tables.

table1: id_emp, name, salary
table2: id_cat, category, min_sal, max_sal

NO RELATION keys (intentionally) between tables.

In sql is very easy to solve:

select *
from table1, table2
where salary between min_sal and max_sal;

or, in ANSI,

select *
from table1 inner join table2
on salary between min_sal and max_sal;

How can I do the same thing in power query?!?
Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @FabryZ ,

I downloaded the example file.

I updated the code provided by @Vera_33 and removed "each" from the syntax.

Copy the code below to a blank query to the example file and you know how it works.

Code:

let
Source = Excel.CurrentWorkbook(){[Name="Table1"]}[Content],
#"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"id_emp", Int64.Type}, {"name", type text}, {"salary", Int64.Type}}),
#"Added Custom" = Table.AddColumn(#"Changed Type", "Add Table 2", (x)=> Table.SelectRows( Table2, each x[salary]>[min_sal] and x[salary]<[max_sal])),
#"Expanded Add Table 2" = Table.ExpandTableColumn(#"Added Custom", "Add Table 2", {"id_cat", "min_sal", "max_sal"}, {"id_cat", "min_sal", "max_sal"})
in
#"Expanded Add Table 2"

KT_Bsmart2gethe_0-1652313812764.png

Regards

KT

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
KT_Bsmart2gethe
Impactful Individual
Impactful Individual

Hi @FabryZ,

All you need to do is add a custom column from with Table 1 or Table 2 then expand the columns.

in Table 1,

KT_Bsmart2gethe_0-1652178766697.png

Result:

KT_Bsmart2gethe_1-1652178831017.png

Please see below M code:

let