Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

severm
Frequent Visitor

Find dates in text

Dear all,

I kindly request the help of this community. I am a beginner and I am still getting acustom with Language M and DAX.

In the file I have I need to extract the maximum dates from a text column.

The dates can be anywhere within the text and they have different ways they were written:

qbcsde45cd 01.06.2022 - 31.05.2023 csfmeoj3dde
ljfofbl;s 5 dada 01.06.2022 -31.05.2023lepojn dbfuif7 9089n fe
lopjfeif4f 03-04.05.2022 pinsdiubf4frf
pjnwd lasa3asde 17/18/19 kmfiofjnrigb56
casfsfe34fgthtr 28*02*2023 sdgdht676s
plnu67jniu 31.12.24 xniubuy67bkl;
mnjhvt567ybnl 31/12/2022 amsuaisb67890
(ant txt) 30/6/22 (any text)

I was thinking to an algorithm like following, but I do not manage it to writte it:

• Replace all punctation with "/" and make a list from text
  • Loop through the list or generate a secondary list with the dates
    • In set of 8 characters
    • In set of 10 characters

check for each step if the step is a date with date from text

• Get the max date

Thank you in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Use this in a custom column

= List.Max(List.Transform(List.Transform(Text.Split(Text.Replace(Text.Replace(Text.Replace(Text.Replace([Data],".","/"),".","/"),"*","/"),"-"," ")," "),(x)=>Text.Select(x,{"0".."9","/"})),(y)=>if Text.Contains(y,"/") then try Date.From(y) otherwise null else null))

Full code for testing

let