Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

TimAUpp

Filtering Column A with a text value from column B

Hi! 

I'm very new to power query and I am having some issues with dynamic values!

Context:
I have a Word Document (converted to PDF) that contains several tables. I want to bring a specific table to power query. Doing this is no problem, and automating what table is chosen is not a problem either (since I know the Table name of interest beforehand). My problem however, lies in my attempt to futureproof the power query code in the event that the table would change name! 

What my current code is doing: It filters away the "page" results and am left with only the Table results. Then expand the data and add a conditional column, if the row contains a certain word (only present in one table) the Table name (Id) is added to the row. My issue is the next step.

Problem:

I can't find a way to reference the row with the TableID of interest and filter the Id column so only that table is present.

Code: 

let
    Source = Pdf.Tables(File.Contents("XYZ.pdf"), [Implementation="1.3"]),
    #"Filtered Rows" = Table.SelectRows(Source, each not Text.StartsWith([Id], "Page")),
    #"Expanded Data" = Table.ExpandTableColumn(#"Filtered Rows", "Data", {"Column1", "Column2", "Column3", "Column4"}, {"Data.Column1", "Data.Column2", "Data.Column3", "Data.Column4"}),
    #"Added Conditional Column" = Table.AddColumn(#"Expanded Data", "Custom", each if [Data.Column2] = "XYZ" then [Id] else null),
    #"Table of Interest" = Table.SelectRows ( #"Added Conditional Column", ??? ))
in
    #"Table of Interest"

If I need to format anything differently,  or need to clarify anything just let me know!

If there's a smarter way to do it feel free to tell me!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Ok, cool.