Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

ryanjparks
Frequent Visitor

DAX Help with Filtered SUM (Slicer)

Hey everyone, first time poster here. I am new to Power BI and am in need of some help.

It seems that this should be an easy task, but I have been unsuccessful so far and havent been able to find a solution online.

Basically, I am trying to do a "Customers Not Buying" report, where I have a Slicer that allows the viewer to select Item(s) from the database. I have created a summary table that groups by CustomerID and ItemID, with total Sales for each row.

Here's what I want to do: When I select the slicer Item(s), I want a custom measure to calculate a new sum based on the Items I have selected, but still need to show all the CustomerID's that did not purchase that product.

I have disabled the interaction between the ItemID Slicer and the Table (not a Matrix) so that when you select an item, it does not eliminate the CustomerID's that did not purchase the selected Item. But my DAX measure is not correctly adding up the total sales for the selected item. Here's the DAX measure:

SelectedItemTotal = CALCULATE(
    SUM(SalesbyItem[SalesbyItem]),
    ALLSELECTED(SalesbyItem[ItemID])
    )

I've tried any number of different filters for this measure, and none seem to do what I'm looking to do.

How do I sum the total Sales for the selected ItemID without filtering out the Customers that didnt purchase that ItemID?

This is how I would like the result to look:

CustomerID     Total Sales     Selected Sales
ABC123           $3500            $125
DEF456           $10,000          $0
GHI789           $123,000        $4,500

Thanks for any help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
rautaniket0077
Resolver I
Resolver I

Relate your Data with mine.

Use these two below measures
1) 

Total Sales  =
CALCULATE(
    SUM(Orders[Sales]),