Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

littlemojopuppy
Community Champion
Community Champion

Restrict Composite Models on Specific Datasets

Good afternoon!

I recently had a user create a composite model with one of our "enterprise" datsets.  Got the person on a call and reviewed with him what he was trying to do: limit what was in the model to just the data in his Excel file.  One of the first things he said was "I'm new to his role and to Power BI and have no idea what he was doing"  🙄  Googled and found instructions on how to create composite models and tried it out.  To join data from the model to his Excel file:

1. He created a concatenated field of Customer and Item from the fact table (about 586M records)
  2. Distinct values from #1 (about 92M records)
  3. Top 500 of those, which requires sorting those 92M records

He managed to auto-scale a P3 all by himself.  Politely asked him to never do that again, and to contact me if he wanted some help with this in the future.  But...this made my biggest fear come to fruition.  We have a set of users who have been asking to combine data from multiple enterprise datasets (for example, "Sales" and "Inventory").  Merging those two models was always my nightmare scenario...and in reality, it took much less to make my fears come true.

We're exploring dataflows to provide the ability of users to pick and choose what data they want to pull into models, which seem promising.  But we still have the problem of composite models.  We've been able to get a count of about 150 composite models (defined as having both Import and Direct Query data sources) in our tenant.  As best as I've been able to find, restricting composite models comes down to tenant-wide settings that allow this:

• Yes
  • Yes, but only for certain users.
  • No