Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Zenna121

Prompting for account when trying to open Excel with Power BI data

Hello everyone, 

I'm kind of new to PowerBI and I don't use it myself a lot.

A colleague of my is working in PowerBI a lot, specifically Excel documents linked to our PowerBI enviorment.

Now since the start of this year, everytime when he tries to open this Excel document, he gets prompted to select the user he wants to sign in with.

We have configured SSO, so he only needs to click his user to sign in and continue.

Does anyone know if Microsoft changed something to the security/ login policies?

PowerBI login prompt.png

Thank you in advance,

Zenna

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yaningy-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi, @Zenna121 

Based on your description, every time a user works with an Excel document in a Power BI environment they will keep being prompted to log in to their account, this could be due to the following reasons:
1. Although you mentioned configuring SSO, changes to back-end security policies or updates to Power BI or Office 365 may sometimes require re-authentication for security reasons.

2. Credentials have changed or expired: If a user's credentials have recently changed or expired, Excel may prompt the selection of an account to refresh the access token.

3. Power BI features require a Power BI Pro license. If the necessary license is not detected, Excel will prompt you to select the account to log in using the account with the appropriate license.

You can try the following options to resolve this problem:
1. Check account permissions to ensure that your colleague's account has the required permissions to access Power BI content linked from Excel.
2. Make sure your colleague has a valid Power BI Pro license.