Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Nepal101
Helper III
Helper III

Power Automate - to using Power BI report and export the report in excel and send it out through ema

Hello Everyone I am new to this, want to know if this is possible. 
When I  used the excel format value under export to file for Power BI Reports I got an error. Can you please tell me if there is a way to use the report from one of the workspace export in excel and send it to the user via email? 

Nepal101_0-1666735160644.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-zhangti
Community Support
Community Support

Hi, @Nepal101 

Power Automate only supported export the file as PDF, PPTX or PNG format, not support CSV or XLSX file:

vzhangti_0-1666749673862.png

Export and email a report with Power Automate - Power BI | Microsoft Learn

Power BI - Connectors | Microsoft Learn

But you can try the subscription feature to send Excel as an attachment message to users.

Unlike subscriptions for dashboards or Power BI reports, your subscription contains an attachment of the entire report output. The following attachment types are supported: PDF, PowerPoint presentation (PPTX), Excel Workbook (XLSX), Word Document (DOCX), CSV file, and XML.

However that email cannot be sent to an email address that has a Free licence or does not have a licence, you'll get the error message "Free users or groups can only be subscribed to reports or dashboards backed by Premium capacity: " when you try and create the subscription, unless the organisation has a Premium Capacity licence and the report is on a Premium Capacity workspace.

Power BI Premium Per User - Power BI | Microsoft Docs

Email subscriptions for reports and dashboards in the Power BI service - Power BI | Microsoft Docs

Best Regards,

Community Support Team _Charlotte