Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Upamanyu90
Regular Visitor

Is a pro license required to setup a on premise gateway?

Hi Experts,

Hope you are having a good week!

Does the Power BI mail account that we specify while setting up an on premise gateway, require Pro License or can we set it up using free users as well? I am new to this so please let me know if you need any more information.

Thanks & Regards,

Upamanyu

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yiruan-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Upamanyu90 ,

Pro license is not required to install and use the gateway. You can check the following documents to learn more about the gateway.

On-premises data gateway

The Power BI Gateway; All You Need to Know

In addition, you can also take a look at the differences between  free license and pro license. As @Anonymous wrote, if you need to collaborate with other people later, such as share and view reports and dashboards etc., you will need a pro license. You can find more details in the following links.

Power BI service features by license type

Power BI Free vs Pro and Premium

Free vs Pro.JPG

Best Regards
Community Support Team _ Rena Ruan
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more.

Community Support Team _ Rena
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
v-yiruan-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Upamanyu90 ,

Pro license is not required to install and use the gateway. You can check the following documents to learn more about the gateway.

On-premises data gateway

The Power BI Gateway; All You Need to Know