Forum Discussion

markmacardle's avatar
markmacardle
Advocate I
6 years ago
Solved

How to delete "Group" type workspaces

I'm an admin and have a team called in my organisation called Commercial. There is a workspace associated with their Office 365 group called Commercial but I can't easily add viewing members to it. So I created a workspace called Commercial thinking that would overwrite the first. However now I just have two:

Two Commercial workspaces

 

When I look in the Workspaces tab of the admin portal I see these have different types; Workspace and Group.

 

 

In the normal workspace I get the expected options and could use "Workspace settings" to delete it

Normal workspace options

 

 

However for the group one I don't get the same options

 

 

I know I can "Leave workspace" to not see the group one anymore, but how do I delete it? I don't want users to upload reports to the wrong one in future. I need to keep the Office 365 group so can't just delete that.

  • Anonymous's avatar
    Anonymous
    6 years ago

    markmacardle This appears to be a case where you want to upgrade your existing workspace to the new workspace experience. A little background. Power BI originally created workspaces that were directly tied to O365 groups. Create a group in O365 you would see it in Power BI. Create it in Power BI and you'd create an O365 universal group. This is obviously not ideal. So they now have a v2 workspace, which is the one you seem to have created just now.

    I would recommend you delete the new workspace and follow the path to upgrade your original one to the new version so you can add in the new workspace viewer role. It should leave everything still connected, and you can find all the steps here -> https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/designer/service-upgrade-workspaces

1 Reply

  • Anonymous's avatar
    Anonymous
    Not applicable

    markmacardle This appears to be a case where you want to upgrade your existing workspace to the new workspace experience. A little background. Power BI originally created workspaces that were directly tied to O365 groups. Create a group in O365 you would see it in Power BI. Create it in Power BI and you'd create an O365 universal group. This is obviously not ideal. So they now have a v2 workspace, which is the one you seem to have created just now.

    I would recommend you delete the new workspace and follow the path to upgrade your original one to the new version so you can add in the new workspace viewer role. It should leave everything still connected, and you can find all the steps here -> https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/designer/service-upgrade-workspaces