Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

caseski
Helper I
Helper I

From Power Bi desktop to portal, update data and configuration for beginners

Hi all,

I started using Power Bi desktop with satisfaction. I created reports by connecting to three corporate servers and 3 SQL databases.

Before upgrading to the premium version I would like to test a little bit of viewing reports on the go with the IOS app. I published the report on the Power Bi portal in my personal area, in this way I can view the report with the IOS APP on both Ipad and Iphone. The report and filters work correctly. However, the data does not update. I saw that it is necessary to download a gateway and set it up but being a beginner I did not understand how it works and I was unable to configure it even following the instructions. Should the gateway be downloaded to the local PC where I have Power Bi desktop or to the server? How is it configured? I would like to set up scheduled updates so that every time I view the report from the IOS App I find the updated data.

Thank you in advance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @caseski 

Your problem is that you couldn't refresh a report whose data source is SQL Server by On-premises gateway (Personal mode). You say that On-premises gateway (Personal mode) is online in your PC, but it is offline in Power BI Service.

Please login in your On-premises gateway (Personal mode) by the same account as Power BI Service. And sign in your On-premises gateway (Personal mode) again and make sure it is online.

What kind of connection mode you used to connect to SQL, import or direct query?

On-premises gateway (Personal mode) only support import mode. If you use direct query or live connection, you can try to install On-premises gateway (standard mode).