Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

metawops

Dataflow with OneDrive folder as source?

Hello folks,

I'm new to Power BI in the cloud (know the Desktop version for about a year now) and wanted to create a data flow with a folder as a source (which contains several CSV files). This folder is on my tenant's OneDrive. However, I think I understood that the "Folder" source for a data flow is only meant for an on premesis folder and has to be connected via a gateway, right?

So how would I then connect this OneDrive folder and it's CSV files to a data flow? Is this possible at all?

I tried my tenant's SharePoint, too, but to be honest: I don't want to have to create a website first to have a "Documents" folder where I put the raw CSV files. (I tried, though, but got errors.)

Thanks a lot in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
metawops

Ah! I found the solution here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zoH_9L9sPYs

The key is to use the SharePoint Folder data source with the base URL of the OneDrive but then later manually change the "SharePoint.Files" to "SharePoint.Contents"! 😉

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
StephenF
Responsive Resident
Responsive Resident

Bit much that two top tier MS products cant talk to each other.

I cant read a folder full of excel files from a dataflow either. Doesnt even give a proper error message, just wont accept a URL in the folder input method.

metawops

Ah! I found the solution here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zoH_9L9sPYs

The key is to use the SharePoint Folder data source with the base URL of the OneDrive but then later manually change the "SharePoint.Files" to "SharePoint.Contents"! 😉

collinq
Super User
Super User

Hi @metawops ,