Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

IbisRipley
Frequent Visitor

ReportingServicesTools Set-RsRestItemDataSource - BAD REQUEST how to diagnose?

I am attempting to write a script to update Datasource connect strings for power bi reports on PBIRS(on prem, no service)  - Trying to add a port to the ( sharepoint ) url in the connect string.  Forgive me as I am new to this and unsure how to move forward.  Script is below and it does return the connectstring with the port to screen prior to setting it.    Can anyone help with possible next steps or what might be wrong?  Thanks in advance

The last line

Set-RsRestItemDataSource -RsItem $dataSourcePath -RsItemType 'PowerBIReport' -DataSources $ds -ReportPortalUri $ReportServerURI

returns

Failed to update data sources for '/AP/CSECR/Action%20Items': The remote server returned an error: (400) Bad Request.
$ReportServerURI = "https://<svr>/Reports/"
$ReportPortalUri = "https://<svr>//PBIReports"

$dataSourcePath = "/MyReportPath"

cls

#Get-RsRestItemDataSource -RsItem $dataSourcePath -ReportPortalUri $ReportPortalUri

$dataSources = Get-RsRestItemDataSource -RsItem $dataSourcePath -ReportPortalUri $ReportServerUri
foreach($ds in $dataSources)
{
Write-Host $ds.ConnectionString

$ds.ConnectionString = $ds.ConnectionString.Replace("mydomain.com", "mydomain.com.999")
$ds.DataModelDataSource.AuthType = "Integrated"
$ds.DataModelDataSource.Username = "Adomain\user"
$ds.DataModelDataSource.Secret = "mypw"

Write-Host $ds.ConnectionString

Set-RsRestItemDataSource -RsItem $dataSourcePath -RsItemType 'PowerBIReport' -DataSources $ds -ReportPortalUri $ReportServerURI
}

5 REPLIES 5
DustinKeith