Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Osama14
Frequent Visitor

Table transformation correct format

Hello, 
I am quite new to the Power Bi and in need of help on how to properly prepare the data before loading

trying to transforming a dataset having ( 35 columns ) having value of each column by mintue using power query but cannot seem to find the correct way,  

The Data is reading from different meters and some categories are having 3 attributes,

The dataset is having a column for date, row for electricity and under it should be 3 rows for each meter sensor, the same applies to production and data flow see the image 

Table Screenshot.PNG

also another example would be Machie 1 having 3 attributes ( Electric consumption, Temp, Returning Temp) 

What will be the best way to transform the data to have a column for the 1st row? so it should be as the following: 

Date     Attribute    Meter 1 Meter 2 Meter 3 West 1 West 2 
1-1-21  Electrictiy    56        55            77          null      null 

1-1-21  Production   null        null          null        55       22             

After doing transpose and filling down the data and transpose again i got the below, but still not the structure that i want so i can get the value from each machine or category but it self if needed.  

Osama14_0-1630767142513.png

Also will this way i will be able to load and do the visualization correctly ?    

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yingjl
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Osama14 ,

You can try this query:

let
    Source = Excel.Workbook(File.Contents("xxx\xx.xlsx"), null, true),
    Sheet1_Sheet = Source{[Item="Sheet1",Kind="Sheet"]}[Data],
    #"Filled Up" = Table.FillUp(Sheet1_Sheet,{"Column1"}),
    #"Removed Other Columns" = Table.Distinct(Table.SelectColumns(#"Filled Up",{"Column1"})),