Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

marcelmunk
Frequent Visitor

Retrieve value from same row based on column name in column

Hi,

Pretty basic question (I believe) as I'm a beginner in Power BI and still on my basics on DAX.

I have a Table which has the Product Name and many properties

marcelmunk_0-1652451188715.png

I want to add a new column, 'Value', which contains the value of the porperty under 'Desired Property'

Desired Result:

marcelmunk_1-1652451308872.png

I guess I can do that with an 'if' function (I've seen an example in the community very similiar, but which had 2 properties only, solved with an 'if' statement)

As I already have the column name I want to extract the value from, there must be an easier way than pile up 20 'if'.

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
NickOP
Frequent Visitor

Here's an alternative solution that reads the record itself:

= Table.AddColumn(Source, "Value", each Record.FieldOrDefault(_,[Desired Property], null))

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
AlexisOlson
Super User
Super User

I'd recommend a much simpler and more efficient approach.

AlexisOlson_0-1652475090780.png

Full sample query:

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WclTSUXIvSk3NA9LBGYlFBUA6Aoid83Pyi5RidaKVnIA8p5zSVJCC3Pz8kgwgIxKIQ1IrSkqLUsFqnIH8oNQUkL7SkpLMvHQgKwqIfVJLSlKBxsQCAA==", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type nullable text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [#"Product Name" = _t, Color = _t, Texture = _t, Letter = _t, #"Desired Property" = _t]),
    #"Added Custom" = Table.AddColumn(Source, "Value", each Record.Field(_, [Desired Property]))
in
    #"Added Custom"
NickOP
Frequent Visitor

Here's an alternative solution that reads the record itself: