Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

mjz123
Regular Visitor

Power Query tranforms data with errors, but ODBC direct doesn't

Hi Everyone,

I have a server with a Firebird Database we are pulling data into Power BI via ODBC > Azure Data Factory > Azure Blob > Power BI

I'm a bit new to this and I was told by a more experienced friend that ADF is a good solution for building a data lake, with other benefits like being able to connect to the data remotely, scheduling when data is retrieved and I've set up the connection and everything seemed to be working well, but then I hit a problem.

When I import data, it arrives as  a JSON file. I'll connect Power BI to the odbc "blob" on azure. I'll select the table I need and instead of Load, I select "Tranform Data" Then, when Power Query opens, I'll select the date of the row I want to import, and I'll select the cell that says "Binary". Next, I click Combine Files under the "Combine" Tab and my data will come up. 

The data has been fine, until I tried pulling up a specific Table with a Column that contains numbers and numbers with text. On Power Query, the column PITEMCODE has cells with 8 numbers and cells with 8 numbers + BOM added to the end. 

mjz123_0-1686345927159.png

When I try to convert the column to TEXT from ANY, the errors are still there. 

mjz123_2-1686346136864.png

I've tried separating columns, but the data with text keeps the errors. 

So I tried connecting Power BI via ODBC directly on the server. Data comes up perfectly fine with no errors when I directly import it into Power BI. So I think Power Query is trying to do something fancy and making the data type all screwy. That's my technical expert opinion 🙂