Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

How to move the content of cell B1 to all cells in a new column and delete some other columns?

Hi all,

as a novice I guess my question is pretty basic:

We export every first day of a month one Excel table to a folder. Power BI imports all tables from that folder = 12 tables/year.

All tables have one thing in common: Cell B1 contains the name of the respective month.

1. That name of the month must be moved to a new column and it must be filled into every cell of this column up to the last used row.

Column A contains the header "name" and names of workers. Their number varies every month. I get the amount of cells to be filled with the name of the month using that formula: NumberOfRows = COUNTROWS(ALL(Table1[name]))

2. The second task is to delete a few columns.

In every table row number 3 contains numbers and combination of letters. Whenever cell 3 of a column contains either a number between 1 and 31 or any the expressions "NZ" or "SZ" or "BZ", then that column must be deleted.

I've no idea to proceed in both cases, any advice is very welcome.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

No @Anonymous . That is not the way Powerquery works.

Let me explain. In a excel file, consider Name of student as first column, 2022 marks as second column, 2021 marks as thrid column. Add some dummy data and save this file as 1 in a folder. Create one more file with same columns but different data and place in same folder as file name 2.