Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

akhaliq7
Continued Contributor
Continued Contributor

Getting data from sql options (query folding, native queries or sql views)

I have been using native queries for the past 10 months in my power bi reports. But I have came across a lot of slow refreshing queries. I only found out that using query folding in power query is a better option and so is sql views. I wanted to ask which option I should go with as the native queries I am using are very long and will take a long time to implement in Power Query. In this case would it be better to just use sql views? 

Please only answer if you have experience with this type of situation as too many people answer with it is upto you or give us more information and then others with more experience are reluctant to answer a already answered question. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
BA_Pete
Super User
Super User

Hi @akhaliq7 ,

It generally IS up to you the choices that you make. Some things will work better for you and your scenario, there's not always an absolutely 'right' answer to things like this.
That being said, here's my tuppence-worth on each of the SQL connection methods.

1) Native queries: If your queries are already using these, then you may not need to change what you are doing completely. On the Value.NativeQuery step, you can enable query folding, like this:

Value.NativeQuery(previousStep, "select * from table etc...", null, [EnableFolding=true])

Pros:
- Can use 'with(nolock)'
- Supports folding with argument update (above).
- Provides timely (at time of refresh) data.

Cons:
- Puts a lot of work resource (creating the SQL query efficiently) out of reach of future reports i.e. they aren't easily reusable in a new report.
- Work done 'not visible' to future maintenance users as opposed to query steps.