Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The ultimate Microsoft Fabric, Power BI, Azure AI & SQL learning event! Join us in Las Vegas from March 26-28, 2024. Use code MSCUST for a $100 discount. Register Now

Anonymous
Not applicable

Extracting a date from a cell to a convert to a column

Hi all,

I am new to power query but hoping someone can help out with this one. I have the raw data excel file and need to add date as a column for each row based on the text in a cell. I have monthly data table files but the date as a text is on top of the file (2nd row) and not a column. 

srzchem_0-1650582056634.png

For example - the cell says 1/1/2021 - 1/312021. I need to extract 1/31/2021 (after delimiter "-") and add it as a column to my table. I would need to replicate it for Jan 2021 - Current (15 months of data) as I append the tables in my data model. I hae a calendar table in my data model that will join to this date. Hoping someone can help with this.

thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

try to use this function with your tables and let's know

let yourFunction = (yourTab) => let Report_Sheet = yourTab{[Item="Report",Kind="Sheet"]}[Data], #"Removed Top Rows" = Table.Skip(Report_Sheet,1), #"Split Column by Delimiter" = Table.SplitColumn(#"Removed Top Rows", "Column6", Splitter.SplitTextByDelimiter("-", QuoteStyle.Csv), {"Column6.1", "Column6.2"}), #"Filled Down" = Table.FillDown(#"Split Column by Delimiter",{"Column6.2"}), #"Removed Top Rows1" = Table.Skip(#"Filled Down",4), #"Promoted Headers" = Table.PromoteHeaders(#"Removed Top Rows1", [PromoteAllScalars=true]), #"Renamed Columns" = Table.RenameColumns(#"Promoted Headers",{{" 1/31/2021", "Report Effective Date"}}) in #"Renamed Columns" in yourFunction 

a problem could be that of making the rename of the new column "Report Effective Date" dynamic from the splitted date.
You should try to find a rule that always applies: