Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

leolapa
Frequent Visitor

Extract initials from names column

OK, I have the following text column as part of a 19-column, several-thousand-rows table in PQ:

oBenef.png

I need to extract the initials of each name from the above column, so this added column would be something like this:

BENEFICIÁRIOS Initials

ITDM
EDS
VCEDSV
OOBL
JVDL
PHDPS
MVDSS
CLB
LMDCS
MGDS
and so on...

How can I accomplish that?

Any of the extract options won't help me with that and I've scanned every text M code in the book, as well as converting each name to a list of names to see if some list M code could come to rescue, but to no avail.

I suppose a combination of M codes should do trick, I just don't know how as I'm fairly new with this...

Thanks in advance for any help!

Leonardo

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
mahoneypat
Employee
Employee

Please try this expression in your custom column instead. It will work for any # of names. Replace [Names] with your actual column name.

= Text.Combine(List.Transform(Text.Split([Names], " "), each Text.Start(_,1)), "")

Pat

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution! Kudos are also appreciated!

To learn more about Power BI, follow me on Twitter or subscribe on YouTube.

@mahoneypa HoosierBI on YouTube

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
mahoneypat
Employee
Employee

Please try this expression in your custom column instead. It will work for any # of names. Replace [Names] with your actual column name.

= Text.Combine(List.Transform(Text.Split([Names], " "), each Text.Start(_,1)), "")

Pat

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution! Kudos are also appreciated!

To learn more about Power BI, follow me on Twitter or subscribe on YouTube.

@mahoneypa HoosierBI on YouTube