Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Extract Table Rows From Multiple Tables Imported Through Power Query

Dear Power BI Community,

First of all, a quick overview of my situation: I am a univesrity student writing his thesis and who is completly new to using Power Query. As a part of my thesis I have to analyze stock transactions of individuals who have been made public through PDF-files. To organise the data I "bulk" importes hundreds of PDFs containing the transactions via power query and transforming the entire folder into a docuent with tha data formated as tables. As a last step, I would then need to merge all the tables extracted from all the different PDFs (each PDF representing a different filling) so that I could sort the table content and get "one large table with all transactions from all individualds" containing the following properties (headers for columns): "asset", "transaction type", "date" and "transaction value".

My Problem

When executing the last step, which is expanding the tables (figure 1) by all columns they contain, I am encountering the following difficulty: Not every table has the same amount of rows (figure 2). Power query seems to have added columns in between (maybe due to some minor differnces in the length of certain words in the PDFs) which makes the resulting output of this step useless. The table which is generated as an output is distorted, meaning that some columns contain multiple properties such as "tranaction type", "date" and "transaction value" at the same time (figure 3). This makes it impossible for me to use the data generated without manually adjusting every couple of rows (there are over 11'000 of them, about 100'000+ considering my entire data set).

Figure 1

Figure 1Figure 1

Figure 2

Figure 2Figure 2

Figure 3