Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Data Refresh taking hours

Hi,

I am new to power BI, i created a report in power BI desktop from CSV file (2316) KB, and in transformations i used merge queries in the tables to get required Coloums and i done report , After that i updated Souce file with more data (i.e) earlier it is one month data now i updated Source file with 6 months data ..now CSV file size (8260) KB , After i done refresh all the tables loaded expect that Table where i add coloums using Merge operation , it taken like 10 hours to load and nearly 20 GB Loaded  why ??

Could any one help me to understood why size increased to 20 GB , how query editor loads table if we use merge operation ??

How can i optimize size even when i am using Merge operations?

I am using power BI Free Trail , So power BI free version Data Limit is 1 GB, So Query Editor loading Shows 20 GB means it is means PBIX File size ? so It crossed the limit of Free version limit of 1 GB

Colud you please suggest me ways to improve my report , Thanks

1 REPLY 1
MAwwad
Super User
Super User

When you use the Merge operation in Power Query, it can result in a Cartesian product, where the number of rows in the output table is the product of the number of rows in each input table. This can cause the size of the table to increase significantly. In addition, merging large tables can be a resource-intensive process that can take a long time to complete.

To optimize the size of your table and reduce the time it takes to refresh, you can consider the following:

1. Use filters: If possible, filter your tables before merging them to reduce the number of rows in each table. This can help to reduce the size of the output table.