Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Custom column to create a new customer flag using group by function.

Hi all,

I am an apprentice to M language, but I am aware of ETL using Power query. I need help to add a custom column using group by in order to flag each transaction if the customer is new or not.

I have a reference date - "1/1/2021". 
The logic I am looking for is to add an IF ELSE statement within the table.group function to achieve a "Y" flag for new customer if the helper column( unique identifier ) has been occured after the reference date, else "N".

Please see my sample below, I have been deriving the flag in excel using formulas.
Open to all suggestion and thanks in advance. Appreciate your help to cross this bridge and be able to build this logic in PQ using excel sample as reference.  

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1JyjCdR2uUYxWJU2ARYvPvvrNrUNyffea/edit?usp=sharing&ouid=11042... 

5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Alex_T 

I wrote this logic for Sku Count based on your solution for New Customer Flag above. Please see below query:

= Table.Group(Source,"Account-Zip-Sku",{{"Sku Count", each if List.Dates[Invoice Dates] <= List.Dates[Start of Month] then "0" else "1"}})

But it throws me this error :
Expression.Error: We cannot apply field access to the type Function.
Details:
Value=[Function]
Key=Invoice Dates

Notes: I referenced the orginal source and created a reference query to test and derive Sku Count using the above logic.
If I remove the List. Dates function then it throws this error:

Expression.Error: We cannot apply operator <= to types List and List.
Details:
Operator=<=
Left=[List]
Right=[List]

Could you please help me write the correct query?

Thank you!

Hiya @Anonymous ,