Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

FreyaNott

Change Data Source from offline excel to SharePoint

Hi all. I am new to PowerBI and have been working in an offline Excel spreadsheet and PowerBI.

I want to upload the Excel and PowerBI to SharePoint so they can be worked on collaboratively. Is this possible? I have quite a lot of data manipulation within the PowerBI so would be useful for it not to just be connecting PowerBI to a new data source (if this makes sense) rather adjusting where the PowerBI is looking for the data. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
KNP
Super User
Super User

If you go into 'Transform data' and look in the advanced editor for your query it will look something like this for local files...

// Local        
let
  Source = Excel.Workbook(File.Contents("D:\Downloads\book.xlsx"), null, true),
  Sheet1_Sheet = Source{[Item = "Sheet1", Kind = "Sheet"]}[Data],
  #"Promoted Headers" = Table.PromoteHeaders(Sheet1_Sheet, [PromoteAllScalars = true]),
  #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(
    #"Promoted Headers",
    {{"a", Int64.Type}, {"b", Int64.Type}, {"c", Int64.Type}}
  )
in
  #"Changed Type"

What you need for SharePoint is something that looks like...

// SharePoint             
let
  Source = SharePoint.Files(
    "https://youdomain.sharepoint.com/sites/yoursite",
    [ApiVersion = 15]
  ),
  #"Filtered Rows" = Table.SelectRows(Source, each ([Name] = "book.xlsx")),
  ExcelFile = #"Filtered Rows"
    {
      [
        Name = "book.xlsx",
        #"Folder Path"
          = "https://yourdomain.sharepoint.com/sites/yoursite/Shared Documents/Data/"
      ]
    }
    [Content],
  #"Imported Excel Workbook" = Excel.Workbook(ExcelFile),
  Sheet1_Sheet = #"Imported Excel Workbook"{[Item = "Sheet1", Kind = "Sheet"]}[Data],