Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

biographer

Using rest api to export csv file from normal powerbi dashboard instead of paginated report

Dear PowerBI community,

This is my very first time post a ticket in the community, please forgive my unprofessionalism. 

My work requires me to export all 100 + reports monthly to csv format, normally i would go into each report and click on the export the report into csv format.

Recently we have found out that we could potentially use rest API to do it. However, the issue with this approach is that, based on the power bi api documentation, it only supports to export dashboard to csv if it is paginated report

I have tried to convert my current dashboards to paginated report, but then realize it is almost impossible because too much of the work. And i have tried to use the api to export, but like the document suggested, it does not really help to export the dashboard pages to csv format. 

May I ask if there is anything I am missing that could help me to export the csv format file from the power bi dashboard?

(I am aware that it is possible that we could directly download the csv from the data source, but for each dashboard, there are plenty of changes made in the desktop version and published to the report, therefore if i directly download from source data file, these changes will be missing) 

Thank you for all kinds of help!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-rzhou-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @biographer ,

As far as I know, currently Power BI only support us to export paginated reports to csv file by REST API.