Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Find everything you need to get certified on Fabric—skills challenges, live sessions, exam prep, role guidance, and more. Get started

Jeff_Ng
Frequent Visitor

equal "=" operator didn't seem to work on calculate and filter functions

I have problem to apply more than one filter (<filter2>....) to my FILTER and CALCULATE functions using the equal "=" operator. They only take the first filter but not the subsequence filters. 

To make it work I had to go opposite way using multiple no equal "<>" operator which make my programme very long. Instead of saying I want to keep 2 things out of 20, now I have to say remove 18 things out of 20. 

CALCULATE(<expression>,<filter1>,<filter2>…)

FILTER(<table>,<filter1> && <filter2>) or FILTER(<table>, AND(<filter1>, <filter2>)

I working with the latest April 2019 Power BI Desktop version. I am still learning DAX but logic tell me if it can take multiple "<>" conditions it should take multiple "=" conditions and other multiple of other operators.

Please help. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Jeff_Ng

The filter conditions in CALCULATE(<expression>,<filter1>,<filter2>…) are performed with AND operation. 

You can modify the Calculate_2 as below: 

Calculate_2 = var t=SUMMARIZE(FILTER(ALL('Table1'),Table1[Colour]="Red"|| Table1[Colour]="Blue"),Table1[Colour],"total",[SumX_1])
return SUMX(t,[total])

q1.PNG

Best Regards,
Qiuyun Yu 

Community Support Team _ Qiuyun Yu
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
v-qiuyu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Jeff_Ng

I have modified the measure below: 

Calculate_2 = CALCULATE([SumX_1],FILTER('Table1',Table1[Colour]="Red"|| Table1[Colour]="Blue"))

SumX_2 =
SUMX(
FILTER(Table1,Table1[Colour]="Red" || Table1[Colour]="Blue"),
Table1[Num1]*Table1[Num2]
)

SumX_3 =
SUMX(