Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

rkapukaya
Helper I
Helper I

connect to ssas direct connection from powerbi - gateway issue

Hi,
i am new at connect ssas tabular model via powerbi directquery. After i created report on desktop, published it. And i configured datasource.
Yet report takes error; "There was a data source access error. Please contact the gateway administrator."

Here is what i do step by step;

* I created tabular model project in import mode and deployed it successfully. I used sql server auth. user to pull data from sql server database.
* I created report on powerbi desktop with my ssas model. And connected to ssas with windows account credentials (readuser@mycompany.com)
this user has server admin privileges on ssas db. Also has rights to login my source sql server database.
* My on-prem gateway is configured by windows account (pbiuser@mycompany.com)
- This user has no rights to login database and analysis services database. User has licence powerbi pro licence.
* I created datasource on web under my gateway connection. And mapped this datasource with my report.
- connection type: analysis services
- user : mycompany\readuser

I login powerbi with pbiuser@mycompany user and get gateway error i mentioned above.When i checked datasource it is successfull. But report takes error and no data shows up.

What are the steps to manage this situation?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-deddai1-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @rkapukaya ,

First check if the windows account you use in powerbi desktop is the same as account you used in power bi service when create credential in manage gateway.