Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Sham_24
Regular Visitor

changing sql server connection for Direct Query

I am new to Power BI. I am trying to change my SQL server data source connection to different SQL server data source connection in Direct Query mode. It is asking me to change it to import mode to do this. How can I change the sql server connection in direct query mode?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yohua-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi, @Sham_24 

To change a SQL Server data source in DirectQuery mode without switching to import mode, in the Data Source Settings window, locate the current SQL Server data source, and then select Change Feed.

vyohuamsft_0-1713322659445.png

Enter the details of the new SQL Server you want to connect to, including the server name and database. Confirm the changes and close the Data Source Settings window.

vyohuamsft_1-1713322698134.png

How to Get Your Question Answered Quickly 

Best Regards

Yongkang Hua

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Sham_24
Regular Visitor

Thanks Yongkang Hua for your reply. I followed your steps. But when I go to Tranform Data and go to the Applied Steps-> Source. I see error below.

Sham_24_1-1713362016315.png

Sham_24_0-1713361942730.png

Hi, @Sham_24 

You can create three parameters in Power Query, representing the SQL Server data source, database, and data table, and then modify them in the Advance editor, as shown below:

Create three Parameters

vyohuamsft_0-1713424062629.png

This is my sql server

vyohuamsft_1-1713424125852.png

vyohuamsft_5-1713425143326.png

I'm in the M language in the Advanced Editor and my table data in sql server

vyohuamsft_3-1713424791323.png

let