Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

4TCON
Frequent Visitor

calculate difference in value between dates, using year and month slicers

Hi,  I am new to Power Bi.  

I need to create a graph that shows the difference in a number between two date periods.  The number is a water level measurement and we need to allow the client to select a year and a month, and for the graph to then show any difference in the two date measurements.

I have put the year and months into separate columns in the data source excel file.     Is this the best way to do this or should they be in one colum (month / year)?

Basically there are 4x columns: Site, Year, Month, SWL value (the water level value). 

How do I create a measure that will look at the SWL value for a month and year and then compare any difference to the previous period?    I am expecting the graph to end up with a range of -5 through to 5 as the water levels rise and fall over the period. 

I have attached a sample chart from the excel file that we currently use to show what I am aiming for.

Thanks,   Kelle

SWL sample chart from excel.jpg 

Data Source.jpg

6 REPLIES 6
TomMartens
Super User
Super User

Hey,

1st things first: welcome to this community

2nd: Trying to provide an answer to your question ...

My answer to your question starts with: Create a separate Calendar table by using the DAX function CALENDAR(<startdate>, <enddate>)

Create a calculated column in your existing table of datatype date/datetime by using this DAX formula:

DATE('table'[yearcolumn], 'table'[monthcolumn], 1)

Then, relate both tables with the calendar table on the one side and your table on the many side.