Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

TomJWhite
Frequent Visitor

Extract part of string before specific character

Hi there,

Im working with a Netflix dataset that has titles (column name [Title]) for shows like "Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Season 3: Greg and Larry (Episode 22)".

For each entry, I want to check against another column (I have a custom column [ContentType] to identify entries as being "TV" instead of "Movie"), and then if they are "TV" entries, I want to extract all characters from the string before the colon : so that I get "Brooklyn Nine-Nine". 

Whats the best way to go about this? Im still new to Power BI/Power Query so im not sure how best to accomplish this. M or DAX is fine im assuming its better to do this in power query before loading?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

@TomJWhite Well, in Power Query you could split the column based on the : but there is also Text.BeforeDelimiter so you could do:

if [ContentType] = "TV" then Text.BeforeDelimiter([Title],":") else [Title]

In DAX you would do something like:

Column = 
  IF(
    [ContentType] = "TV",
    LEFT([Title],SEARCH(":",[Title])-1),
    [Title]
  )

Text.BeforeDelimiter - PowerQuery M | Microsoft Docs

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
Mastering Power BI 2nd Edition

DAX is easy, CALCULATE makes DAX hard...

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
atillotson
Frequent Visitor

Hi there,

I've just tried the suggestion from you above for a similar situation but I seem to get the error 'The search Text provided to function 'SEARCH' could not be found in the given text' (see attached) but the "-" character is present (see attached).