Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

mostof
Regular Visitor

Custom column based on slicer values

Hello,

I'm new to PowerBI and hope someone can help me with this elementary issue.

I have two tables: Users and Computers with a 1:N relationship. Computers table contains a "Purpose" column. I want a column in the Users table that show how many computers in the "Computer" table are within the purpose selection based on a multi-value slicer. I created a table one-column called PC Purpose that contains all the different purposes a computer can have and the slicer is based on that table. Thanks in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

The selections in the slicer doesn't affect a calculated column. As with calculated table, it gets updated only when:

• The related tables are refreshed
  • Upon creation
  • When the formula is updated.

Instead of calculated column use a measure.

PC Count = 
CALCULATE (
    COUNTROWS ( Computers ),
    FILTER ( Computers, Computers[PC_Purpose] IN VALUES ( PCPurpose[PC Purpose] ) )
)

The measure above will return the same result whether there is a relationship or not between PCPurpose and Computers tables. If there is an existing relationship, you cause simply COUNTROWS the Computers table.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

"Tell me and I’ll forget; show me and I may remember; involve me and I’ll understand."
Need Power BI consultation, get in touch with me on LinkedIn or hire me on UpWork.
Learn with me on YouTube @DAXJutsu or follow my page on Facebook @DAXJutsuPBI.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
mostof
Regular Visitor

Thank you, I'll give it a try!

danextian
Super User
Super User

Hi @mostof ,