Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Zbig62
Regular Visitor

problem with calculating the average using variables defining a range of values

Hello
I am a beginner DAX user and I have a serious problem with calculating the average using variables defining a range of values.
The problem is as follows:

Table: 'public Measurement'

1. average value for the entire range (10 results) as a separate column - works well

AV_N =

CALCULATE (

AVERAGE ( 'public Measurement'[result]);

FILTER (

ALLSELECTED ('public Measurement');

'public Measurement'[characteristicId] = MAX ( 'public Measurement'[characteristicId])

)

)

The result of the measure is as follows

Zbig62_1-1713695699905.png

2. average value for 5 results as a separate column - it seems to work well but the value range is entered "manually"

AV5 =
CALCULATE (
     AVERAGEX('public Measurement';  'public Measurement'[result]);
   FILTER (
        'public Measurement'[characteristicId] = MAX ( 'public Measurement'[characteristicId])
    );
        'public Measurement'[number] >= 1 ; 'public Measurement'[number] <= 5  
)

Zbig62_0-1713695370898.png

average value from a range using variables (the measure doesn't work, why?)

Instead of constant values defining the average calculation range (1 and 5 ), I need to use variables.
the variable defining the final range of the value must be calculated, for example:
var stop = count('public measurement'[number]) (instead of the value 5)
How to use variables in such a measure?
Please help

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Zbig62
Regular Visitor

welcome back
Thank you for your suggestions, it allowed me to locate the problem.
Instead of count() I used the countx() function and it works very well
thank you again

var stop_av = CALCULATE(
    COUNTX('public Measurement';'public Measurement'[number]);