Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

marc_slater

Unable to get LOOKUPVALUE to work correctly

Hi, 

I am attempting to use LOOKUPVALUE as a VLOOKUP, as I cannot use merge, as I do not have unique identifiers.

I am new to DAX so I would like some guidance as to whether I am using the function correctly or how I could potentially do this easier.

I currently have a table which includes a lot of information, but the main column that I'm using is the 'Highest Degree' column in a table called 'EMD Highest'. I have created another table which has the list of all degrees which are found in the Highest Degree column, along with the NQF Level of each degree, in a table called 'Degree + NQF' (which can be found below).

I would like to create a column in the EMD Highest table which pulls in the NQF Level from the 'Degree + NQF' table for the specific degree that an individual in my dataset has. For example, if an individual has a Bachelor of Arts, the created NQF column would show a 7. For a Diploma, it would show a 6, etc.

Please advise whether LOOKUPVALUE is the correct DAX formula to be using for this, or is there a more efficient way to do this?

Degree & NQF table.PNGHighest Degree ColumnHighest Degree Column

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-cgao-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @marc_slater ,

Try using fuzzy matching in PowerQuery Editor.

vcgaomsft_1-1683858028466.png

Appropriate adjustment of the parameters of the similarity threshold.

vcgaomsft_0-1683857939057.png

vcgaomsft_2-1683858663217.png

DAX does not do as good a job as the M function in fuzzy matching.

Best Regards,
Gao

Community Support Team