Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

MarkPalmberg
Kudo Collector
Kudo Collector

Tabular Editor Format String Expression help

Hi.

I'm new to Tabular Editor and calculation groups, and I'm wondering if I might get some advice.

I have a table containing a dimension that controls dynamic measure selection in my PBIX. It looks like this:

IF(ISCROSSFILTERED('Measure Dimensions'[Dimension]),
SWITCH(TRUE(),
    VALUES('Measure Dimensions'[Dimension]) = "Accepted Sum",[Accepted Amount],
    VALUES('Measure Dimensions'[Dimension]) = "Expected Sum",[Expected Ask Amount],
    VALUES('Measure Dimensions'[Dimension]) = "Ask Sum",[Ask Amount],
    VALUES('Measure Dimensions'[Dimension]) = "Accepted Count",[Accepted Ask Count],
    VALUES('Measure Dimensions'[Dimension]) = "Expected Count",[Expected Ask Count],
    VALUES('Measure Dimensions'[Dimension]) = "Ask Count",[Asks Made Count],
    BLANK()
),BLANK()
)

I followed some online tutorials to build out a Time Intelligence calculation group in Tabular Editor (TE). One of my takeaways there was that the format set for the calculation items in TE overrides the format set on the measure in the PBIX; this is fine given my current use case.

Where I'm at now is setting the format for the SELECTEDMEASURE() based on the name of the selected measure from my measure dimension table. So, if it's a count, the format should be (I think) "0,0;-0,0", and if it's a sum, it should be "$0.00;-$0.00".

Can I accomplish this via the Format String Expression in the Expression Editor in TE? If so, do I have to explicitly add the same DAX to the Format Expression for each of my calculation items?

Thanks for any tips you can pass long!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
MarkPalmberg
Kudo Collector
Kudo Collector