Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

ilyan321
Frequent Visitor

DAX: Is it possible to initialize existing columns as variables in a new table?

Hi, I am new to DAX. I have 2 questions on initializing variables, specifically initializing columns as variables (VAR) : 
1. Is it possible to initialize columns (from existing tables) as variables in a new table?

2. Is it possible to create new columns as variables in a new table and the variable is then used to be referred to other calculations in the same table?

P/S: I may not good in explaining things since I am new to this, sorry about that. You can just reply me if you don't understand my questions. Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-robertq-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi, 

According to your description, here’s my opinion on your two questions:

For the first one, I think it’s not possible if the column you used in the table has a relationship with your current table, if so, you can simply use the Related() function in the DAX to create a calculated column like this:

Column= Related (‘Table2’[Column2])

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dax/related-function-dax

For the second one, I think the example posted by Greg is a very great example, you can achieve this through his suggestions.

Thank you very much!

Best Regards,

Community Support Team _Robert Qin

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
v-robertq-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi, 

According to your description, here’s my opinion on your two questions: