Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Pete_HSINFRA
Frequent Visitor

Power BI Custom Visual

I purchased a licence for a custom visualisation for my Power BI the other day on the Microsoft Appsource website.

After publishing the report to Power BI Server, when I tried to open the report, I received the following message on the custom visualisation:

Pete_HSINFRA_0-1678976774879.png

I am a O365 Global Administrator and Power BI Administrator. Upon looking at the Products we have listed on the O365 Admin Portal, I noticed that the licence for the visualisation is assigned against a Self-Service Account, rather than an Organisational Account. Does this affect whether a product can be displayed in Power BI Server?

I'm not sure how to proceed with this one. The Microsoft Power BI Team haven't been able to help with the ticket I raised and frankly, I'm getting rather frustrated.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Pete

2 REPLIES 2
Pete_HSINFRA
Frequent Visitor

Hi Aniya,

I did manage to get the problem resolved; however, the solution was more by chance rather than endeavour.

What I did find out is that this is really to do with how Microsoft approach 3rd Party Vendor products licencing, as in there are bugs in the process, which was why I wasn't able to utilise the licence correctly.

The Self-Service account and Organisational account types are a bit of a red herring. This really only impacts how the licence can be assigned.

In the end, while in discussiong with the Vendor, we decided to try and cancel the product and re-purchase it. As I clicked the cancel button, suddenly all the status' changed and I could finally see the licence and assign it...... Up until then I could only see the product and not the licence.