Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

timmcn
Regular Visitor

Incorrect report table column total

Hi,

Firstly, my apologies as I am new to Power BI Desktop and I'm sure this is something obvious.

When I create a report which includes our Weighted Refill Score measure, the total is far greater than the sum of the values for each row. Furthermore, I can't find anywhere to check whether it is set to count, sum, average etc. (although I can't think of any calculation that would generate this total).

Here is a screenshot of the report - screenshot

How can I get the column to just be the sum of the values?

Best regards,

Tim

9 REPLIES 9
jeffreykeryk
Helper I
Helper I

Here is an example: Create a pivot, and set summarization to Average. In my case, the table averages are fine, but the totals are whack. Here is Excel, with correct values (average of 3 values is 1,916,498:

2014 Q1

However, Power BI returns 1,932,746.

Please advise, as this is a deal killer for me.

@jeffreykeryk,it's usually better to start your own thread for problems like this. Everyone's model will be unique in some way, so the steps that timmcn might need to take to get his grand total to behave as is appropriate for his business logic are very likely different than those needed for yours.

Additionally, based on the information you've shared, there is no way to understand what the inputs to your measures are, or where the problem might lie. Please see my first response in this thread for some helpful tips to make sure you get responses that are relevant and useful to your specific problem.

Hi Gregg,

Can you tell me how to add a post? I am struggling to use this forum.

Can I paste in a screenshot?

I appreciate your help.

Jeff Keryk