Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

soki

How to install a gateway on a server machine that is online 24/7

Hi, I have been having problems with a scheduled refresh. My dataset is WEB. The refreshes are failing because the gateway is installed on a machine that is not online all the time - I tried both personal but also on-premise gateway. And I know that in order to get it refreshed, the gateway should always be installed on a machine that is online 24/7.

But how do you exactly install the gateway on such a server machine which is online all the time to resolve this issue? I am really new to this. Any steps, what to do, and how? I have been looking on the internet for hours and I can't find anything.

Thanks.

3 REPLIES 3
v-yetao1-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @soki 

As @GilbertQ you can create a virtual network (VNet) data gat , but this feature is available only for Power BI datasets, Power Platform dataflows, and Power BI paginated reports. So if your data source is local, I don't recommend you use this feature .

You can refer to the offical document and decide if you want to use this feature .

What is a virtual network (VNet) data gateway (Preview) | Microsoft Learn

If your data is locally based or your data source is not eligible to use the above gateway, then I would still recommend installing a local standard gateway . The gateway itself is used as a service and is recommended to be installed on your server, which is usually kept on 24 hours a day, all year round.

Ailsamsft_0-1669345474057.png

I hope this information below will be helpful to you .

https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/data-integration/gateway/service-gateway-install#related-considera... 

Best Regards,
Community Support Team _ Ailsa Tao