Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Connection to aws rds mysql

Hi all,

I am new to PBI and I am facing a problem with the connection PBI report server with AWS rds DB on MySQL.

I have read a lot of articles and came to the conclusion, that I need to install an "on-premise gateway" somewhere in AWS EC2...

Is this right, or we have some other option?

Thanks in advance!!! 

19 REPLIES 19
Icey
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous ,

Is this problem solved?

If it is solved, please always accept the replies making sense as solution to your question so that people who may have the same question can get the solution directly.

If not, please let me know.

Best Regards,

Icey

Anonymous
Not applicable

I am working with a team, and I still have no rights to create VM on AWS --- and this is the main step in the solution.

So, I just have no chance to implement this solution.

As I implement this --- I will mark this topic as the solution for sure.

KBO
MVP

Hi @Anonymous ,

here is a list with all possible connections for Power BI Report Server: https://docs.microsoft.com/de-de/power-bi/report-server/data-sources

Best,

Kathrin

If this post has helped you, please give it a thumbs up!
Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks!

But I didn't find AWS RDS MySql in the list, which you proposed to me.

Maybe I should clarify a bit about my problem:

I have a PBI desktop file, Also I have a PBI file on the report server, and when I need to update the file on the server, I need to do 2 operations: 1) refresh in desktop file --- just to get data in graphics updated.

2) publish in desktop file ---- publish the file to report server.

As the data source for my PBI file, I use the AWS RDS MySQL server.