Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Richard_U
Regular Visitor

Power query to return records between two strings (A-Z, P-W, E-H)

I need to load records from another excel file into another based on a range of characters.

The user can enter the first and last into two cells with corrosponding ranges(firstone, lastone)

From these two values, I need to do a power query to load in the data where the customer name is in between these two values.

So, if I have values 0 and D I would want all the customers who's names started with a number, or A, B, C, or D.  

I am BRAND NEW to power query and haven't been able to figure this out yet. 

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
mahoneypat
Employee
Employee

Here is one example on how to do this.  You can make two parameters in the query editor called FirstLetter and SecondLetter (note these will be case sensitive), and then add a custom column to your query called Keep with this formula.  It makes the list of letters between your two parameters and checks if the first letter falls within that range.  You then just filter out the "N" columns.

= if List.Contains({FirstLetter..SecondLetter}, Text.Start([LastName],1)) then "Y" else "N"

Regards,

Pat

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution! Kudos are also appreciated!

To learn more about Power BI, follow me on Twitter or subscribe on YouTube.

@mahoneypa HoosierBI on YouTube

View solution in original post

v-yingjl
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Richard_U ,

As @ mahoneypat's mentioned,  you can create two parameters to store your first value and last value, but you can add a query directly like this to filter the column instead of creating a custom column to filter it and remove this column

= Table.SelectRows(#"Changed Type", each List.Contains({firstone..lastone},Text.Start([Name],1)))