Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

rm8168

PQ M-code not recognizing empty cell in email field

Hi Community,

I'm a newbie to forum so I hope I'm posting correctly. I searched forum and even tried ChatGPT for a solution.  Here is the scenario. I have large Excel table containing fields of "email", "StoreName", and adding new field of "salesChannel".  The following code was created to populate the SalesChannel based upon the content within "email" or else the "StoreName". The source data and data within PQ all Text type.

All works well except when the email field is empty.  It finds null and other email content correctly. As well it correctly finds and identifies the StoreName values.   Only when it comes across an empty email address it populates the SalesChannel with ERROR. 

I'm hoping that someone in the community can help me figure out a solution.  Thanks in advance.

#"Added Custom" = Table.AddColumn(#"Changed Type", "SalesChannel", each
if Text.Contains([email], "amazon") then "Amazon"
else if Text.Contains([email], "ebay") then "eBay"
else if [StoreName] = "Event Store Server" then "Event Store"
else if (Text.Trim([email]) = "" or [email] = null) and [StoreName] = "Corporate" then "In-Store"
else "Co Web"
)
in
#"Added Custom"

==============

Operating Office 365 64bit

Regards

RM8168

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
ronrsnfld
Super User
Super User

Because of the way null behaves in performing logical operations, one solution is to re-arrange your statement so that you are checking for the null first.

if (Text.Trim([email]) = "" or [email] = null) and [StoreName] = "Corporate" then "In-Store"
    else if Text.Contains([email], "amazon") then "Amazon"
    else if (Text.Trim([email]) = "" or [email] = null) and [StoreName] = "Corporate" then "In-Store"
    else "Co Web"
        )