Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Find everything you need to get certified on Fabric—skills challenges, live sessions, exam prep, role guidance, and more. Get started

Anonymous
Not applicable

POWER BI is duplicating rows after loading in POWER QUERY

Hello 😀

I am very new to using Power BI and have self taught myself it using forums and youtube videos.

I need some help, please as I can't seem to find a solution!

In my raw data I have one row

hash86_3-1648563985683.png

But when i look at it in power query it has duplicated the row. This is happening to only a few random rows and not every single row. 

hash86_4-1648564037416.png

Any help will be greatly apperciated.

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Anonymous ,

Yes, that's perfect, thanks.

My guess is that the three merges you are doing in your main query are introducing crossjoins and therefore duplicating rows.

To identify your issue, pick one of the duplicated rows (such as the one in your original example screenshot) and check each source value against the merged table, like this:

1) Take the [Date] value in your duplicated row (04/03/2022 in this example) and filter Codes[Date] by this value. How many rows are there with this [Date] value?

2) Take the [Store] value (9001) and filter Store[Store Code] by this value. How many rows are there?

3) Take the [TM ID] value (814497) and filter TM[ID] by this value. How many rows are there?

If the answer to any/all of the questions above is "more than one", then it is the merges that are creating the duplicate rows.

Pete

Now accepting Kudos! If my post helped you, why not give it a thumbs-up?

Proud to be a Datanaut!

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
BA_Pete
Super User
Super User

Hi @Anonymous ,

The fact that you have a [Source.Name] column in your output tells me that you've probably missed some information in your post about how you have imported the data into your query.