Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Number of rows loading into Power BI after completing Query steps much higher than the real number

Hi everyone thank you for taking the time to look into my question. I am quite new to Power BI and I have been running into an issue which I don't understand the origin. 
I have a table with initially a large amount of rows (6 million) which I have filtered down to a couple of hundred. As I need for each row information from the previous row , I added an index column and, based on it,  I retrieve into two additional columns two pieces of data from the previous line. I also added an if condition to avoid retrieving information if one cell of the previous row displays a specific value. All was done using Power Query formulas. In the Power Query preview, it displays extacly the information I want to see. Yet when I try to load my table in Power BI, the loading of rows never ends and displays a number of rows currently loaded far greater than what it is supposed to be in that table. The loading becomes gradually slower as the number of rows loaded increases. . If I try to load the table without the added columns, it works completely fine. Would anyone know what it could be due to ?

1 REPLY 1
BA_Pete
Super User
Super User

Hi @Anonymous ,

This is due to your code requiring your table to be scanned multiple times to achieve the result you want.

By referring back to the table itself in order to pick up the previous row, you are requiring Power Query to load that table again so that it can be scanned to find rows in itself that meet your matching criteria.