Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Find everything you need to get certified on Fabric—skills challenges, live sessions, exam prep, role guidance, and more. Get started

BornSlippy99
Regular Visitor

Merge columns to create new entries

Hi all,

I'm brand new to Power BI so please bear with me. I imagine this is fairly standard but I can't find an article which answers what I'm looking for.

I've created a reporting tool in my work where operators can log data every 2 hours and this is used as a metric to compare performance from day to day. We also assign issues to explain why performance was poor in the 2 hour period. I've been able to make pie charts when there is one issue, but I'd like to add another column where a second issue can be assigned if necessary. I'd like Power BI to treat it as the same data as the first issue, rather showing up in my visuals as issue 1 and issue 2.

Essentially, I'd like to go from this:

BornSlippy99_1-1679581660045.png

To this:

BornSlippy99_2-1679581945267.png

Hope this makes sense. Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

No worries, you're welcome!  You can click the fx button to the left of the formula bar which will create a new step in the query. Then paste this snippet into the formula bar and replace #"Your Previous Step Name" with the name of your last step.  

#"Unpivoted Other Columns" = Table.UnpivotOtherColumns(#"Your Previous Step Name", {"Date", "Time"}, "Attribute", "Issue")

jennratten_0-1679585999961.png

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
jennratten
Super User
Super User

Hello - this will produce the expected results.

let