Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Issue while importing binary data. combine files feature makes other columns disappear

I have been trying to import a new dataset into my power bi report, and I have been having some issues with the data being in a binary format. I am reletively new at Power Query so I may have missed something, but these photos will best illustrate the problem. (seen below)

The file upon importing (untouched)The file upon importing (untouched)

This is how the data looks upon importing, where a majority of the columns are in a binary format. The only way I have been able to transform the column into the correct data format is the "combine files" feature, where it lets me input the correct data transfer format (#37). I am new at Power Query so I may have missed something, but this was the only way I could get it to work

The correct settings to transfer from binary dataThe correct settings to transfer from binary data

Then I click okay, and I am left with the same table, but only one column. I need to do this to the majority of columns in this dataset, is there any way you guys would advise to do this? here is the result below.

the resulting column (which is correct) but it removes all other columns.the resulting column (which is correct) but it removes all other columns.

Let me know what you guys think!! thanks for your time.

Marco Charbonneau

8 REPLIES 8
lbendlin
Super User
Super User

Please provide sample data that covers your issue or question completely, in a usable format (not as a screenshot).
https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Community-Blog/How-to-provide-sample-data-in-the-Power-BI-Forum/ba-...
Please show the expected outcome based on the sample data you provided.