Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

bakhtsingh14
Regular Visitor

Assistance Needed: Kernel Connection Timeout in VS Code with Microsoft Fabric

Hello Community,

I'm new to using Microsoft Fabric and am encountering a challenge that I hope some of you might be able to assist me with. I've been trying to run a Jupyter notebook in Visual Studio Code, but I keep running into a kernel connection timeout issue.

Here’s what I see when I try to start the notebook:

```
Failed to start the Kernel.
Unable to start Kernel 'fabric-synapse-runtime-1-1 (Python 3.10.10)' due to a connection timeout.
```

I've attached a screenshot of the error for reference.

What I've tried so far:
- Ensuring that the Conda environment is correctly set up and activated.
- Checking that the IPython kernel is installed and up to date.
- Uninstalling VS Code and reinstall all the extensions.

Despite these efforts, I'm still facing the timeout error. Could anyone provide some guidance on what might be causing this and how to resolve it? Any insights or suggestions would be greatly appreciated, especially from those familiar with Synapse and Fabric on VS Code.

Thank you so much for your time and help!synapse_fabric_error1.jpeg

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Hi @v-nikhilan-msft ,
Thank you so much for your help. I have raised a support ticket for this issue. Ticket Number is 2403130040001992.

View solution in original post

Hi @bakhtsingh14 
The issue in your case is the session is starting very slowly. Can you please add the JupyterLaunch Timeout like this:

vnikhilanmsft_0-1710335567651.png

Default timeout is 60000 ms (1 minutes). Set the Default timeout to 10 mins (i.e) 600000ms. After setting the timeout you can connect to the cluster successfully.

vnikhilanmsft_1-1710335725408.png