Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Ncf5031
Advocate I
Advocate I

Matplotlib Widgets

Good afternoon all,

I'm very new to scripting visuals in Power BI using Python and I have run into a bit of a snag.

I am attempting to script a 3D bar chart that is interactive using Matplotlib Widgets. For this particular visual I would just like to be able to rotate it on all three axes. Unfortunately I can't get the widgets to work correctly and and I'm wondering if they are able to be used in Power BI. Below is a snippet of the code. When I don't use %matplotlib widget, the visual is generated correctly (as shown). Can anyone point me in the right direction?

# The following code to create a dataframe and remove duplicated rows is always executed and acts as a preamble for your script: 

# dataset = pandas.DataFrame(Year, Quarter, Month, Day)
# dataset = dataset.drop_duplicates()

# Paste or type your script code here:
# creating 3d bar plot using matplotlib 
# in python

# to interacte  with plot
%matplotlib widget

# importing required libraries
from mpl_toolkits.mplot3d import Axes3D
import matplotlib.pyplot as plt
import numpy as np

# creating random dataset
xs = [2, 3, 4, 5, 1, 6, 2, 1, 7, 2]
ys = [1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10]
zs = np.zeros(10)
dx = np.ones(10)
dy = np.ones(10)
dz = [1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10]

# creating figure
figg = plt.figure()
ax = figg.add_subplot(111, projection='3d')

# creating the plot
plot_geeks = ax.bar3d(xs, ys, zs, dx, 
                      dy, dz, color='green')

# setting title and labels
ax.set_title("3D bar plot")
ax.set_xlabel('x-axis')
ax.set_ylabel('y-axis')
ax.set_zlabel('z-axis')

# displaying the plot
plt.show()

Python.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
dm-p
Super User
Super User

Hi @Ncf5031,