Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MannyJ
Frequent Visitor

Integrating Power BI Report into Customer Dashboard

Hi All.

I am not an expert with Power BI but I understand that we can use APIs and SQL queries to connect our models to databases. 

I am  systems administrator for a utilities company and we want our customer to have a better view of their consumption and cost data. We currently have a customer portal where customers can view their data but we need to make this visually better and more dynamic/interactive.

I am currently building an aggregation dashboard on Power BI using consumption data that I exported from our system. Once the dashboard is built, I would like to connect this to our Database in AWS and then have this displayed on each customer's dashboard on the online portal. 

I would like to find out how it would be possible that the database I connect my model to would filter down the data according to which customer is viewing their data on their portal without having to create a million different reports. This might be a dumb and obvious question, but I would just like to get an expert opinion before I proceed.

Thanks!

@dm-p @Sahir_Maharaj @lbendlin 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Adamboer
Responsive Resident
Responsive Resident

Your question is not dumb at all! It's a great question and it's always better to get an expert opinion before proceeding with a project.

To answer your question, you can achieve this by using Power BI's Row-Level Security (RLS) feature. RLS allows you to restrict data access based on user roles or permissions.