Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

SMad

Using two slicers: one to select the column to use to filter, second showing values within column

I am brand new to PowerBI, so apologies if I call things by the wrong name! I have done significant searching for a solution to this but haven't found anything.

I have data that shows customer total buy and my company's sales for different products along with other information. I'd like to be able to visualize total buy or sales with a stacked column chart, but then be able to do several different kinds of filters.

There are 10 columns that I'd like to be able to use to filter. These include columns like "Product Group", "End Market", "Customer State", "Primary Account Owner", etc. 

The ideal output I'm looking for is having one slicer to select one of the 10 columns that I'd like to filter on and then a second slicer showing the options from that column. 

For example, the first slicer should show all 10 column names as mentioned above, and when "Product Group" is selected, the second slicer would populate (or filter down to?) showing the four potential product groups: Group1, Group2, Group3, Group4. 

The actual visualization would only change when this second slicer selection is made. Below is sample data, but I don't have an example PBI file.

I've seen mention of unpivoting data, or using dynamic heirarchy, but I'm not familiar with these and not sure what would work best in this case.  Thanks!

Primary LocationPrimary Account OwnerCustomer NameCustomer StatusCustomer FlagCustomer StateEnd MarketEnd Market SegmentProduct GroupProduct CategoryOur 2020 SalesCustomer 2020 total buy
Loc1Smith, JohnCust1ExistingOutsideAZMkt1Sgmt1Group1Cat1100100
Loc1Doe, JaneCust2ExistingOutsideAKMkt2Sgmt2Group1Cat2150300
Loc1Smith, JohnCust3ExistingOutsideCOMkt1Sgmt1Group1Cat3200400